| |
BGonline.org Forums
An ethics issue raised in Paris?
Posted By: Steen Grønbech In Response To: An ethics issue raised in Paris? (Phil Simborg)
Date: Friday, 6 November 2009, at 7:49 a.m.
Hi Phil,
I very much agee with your points of view and will take the debate fite the Danish federation as well - Maybe we can start by listing cons/pros for a legal move rule. I am not sure if we have eth exact same rules on illegal moves. The Danish rules are repepted here:
4.2 Checkers and moves
1. MOVES. The players must move clearly and use only one hand to move the checkers. Checkers on the bar must be re-entered into play before any other checker may be moved.
2. HANDLING OF CHECKERS. A player may not touch his or her own checkers or the opponent’s checkers during the opponent’s turn. Checkers that have been hit must remain on the bar until they can be re-entered into the game in a legal manner. Checkers borne off must be kept away from the board until the end of the game.
3. ILLEGAL MOVES. 1. In general. If a player notices that the opponent has made an illegal move, he can choose to accept the move or demand that the move is made in accordance with the numbers on the dice.
2. Acceptance/undoing of illegal moves in matches played without the use of game clock. Acceptance of an illegal move is made by the player commencing his or her turn. Demands for undoing are made by presenting the opponent with the fact. Once the opponent has accepted the fact the dice must be replaced on the board showing the correct value and the move must be remade.
3. Acceptance/undoing of illegal moves in matches played with a game clock. Acceptance of an illegal move is made by the player commencing his turn. Demands for undoing are made by stopping the game clock and presenting the opponent with the fact. Once the opponent has accepted the fact, the opponent’s time must be restarted on the game clock. When the delay time has run out, the opponent may make a legal move.
4. ERRORS IN THE STARTING POSITION. If an error in the starting position is noticed after the player starting the game has commenced his second turn, the starting position is valid in spite of the error. Therefore a player starting with less than 15 checkers can still lose a gammon or backgammon. An error noticed before the player starting the game has commenced his second turn must be corrected in accordance with the correct starting position, if possible.
Lets start to brainstorm - pros/cons against legal moves?
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.