[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Fast-roll tournament ruling?

Posted By: Rich Munitz
Date: Wednesday, 9 December 2009, at 1:32 p.m.

In Response To: Fast-roll tournament ruling? (Max Urban)

It seems to me that the player does not have the right to undo his roll and reroll. And as the violator, since the facts are not agreed, the ruling should tend to favor the player who did not commit a violation.

Also, the fact that the player rolled 66 is of interest. Would the opponent have called the director if the player had rolled a 32 instead? So any ruling really needs to be independent of what the player had rolled.

If it cannot be established after consultation of players and spectators what the original roll was, I believe that under the circumstances, the proper ruling is to give the opponent the choice of whether to allow the current roll to stand, or to require a reroll. The director should caution the player not to interfere with the rolled dice under any circumstance, and warn that a future infraction could result in the opponent being allowed to call the dice roll instead of a reroll. Forfeiting a roll is not an option in backgammon.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.