| |
BGonline.org Forums
Fast-roll tournament ruling?
Posted By: Matt Ryder In Response To: Fast-roll tournament ruling? (Tom Keith)
Date: Wednesday, 9 December 2009, at 4:29 p.m.
I don't think you can say that B (offending player) has ended his turn. If I understand the situation, B picked up his dice before A (whose turn it is) picked up his own dice. So B's turn hasn't even started yet!
I'm not sure it necessarily follows that simply because B plays early, his turn hasn't even started. Certainly, we can it agree that it shouldn't have started. But I feel that the requirement that the dice stand is tacit acknowledgment that B's turn has de facto started. In practice, post-contact bearoff situations are often played fast, with the players rolling (and playing) quite independently of each other and not necessarily applying the ordinary turn etiquette. This is technically 'wrong' but is generally condoned because the non-contact decisions are quite independent.
My ruling might be that A gets to finish his turn and then A gets to call B's next roll. This is a very harsh penalty, and I don't normally favor harsh penalties, but I don't know what else would be fair to A in this situation and similar future situations.
Wow, that is extremely punitive. My concern as a fledgling TD is to try to apply some consistent logic to the penalty decision. One person might think the game should be restarted from scratch, another that the match should be conceded, yet another that the offender should be let off with a warning. It's all subjective opinion. Does the TD really have the right to make these arbitrary calls? It seems to me the rules are tolerably clear and unambiguous, but a consistent system of penalties for infractions has yet to be codified.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.