| |
BGonline.org Forums
Another director ruling
Posted By: Chase In Response To: Another director ruling (Phil Simborg)
Date: Tuesday, 23 March 2010, at 10:55 a.m.
If I lose a gammon and my opponent accidentally scores it as a single game, IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY to correct him. And if I do not, and it is discovered later that the game was scored improperly, whether it can be proven that I intentionally failed to mention it or not, I should give my opponent the points because he earned them and deserved them, and he should not lose that because of a mistake with the pencil.
I haven't fully formed an opinion on this, but it brings to mind the way scoring is handled in golf, where it is the responsibility of the player to fill out his score card properly, and failure to do so, for whatever reason, is grounds for disqualification.
My point is not that backgammon should be handled this way, but rather that it could be handled this way, and there would be nothing inherently unethical in doing so. In these areas, where opinions of propriety will differ, it's probably less important what the rules and expectations are than that they are clear and well defined.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.