[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Another director ruling

Posted By: Rich Munitz
Date: Tuesday, 23 March 2010, at 6:57 p.m.

In Response To: Another director ruling (Gregg Cattanach)

"No. I think the cube on a wrong number is a scoring error rather than an illegal move, and should be corrected regardless of the timeliness"

Agree. It is simply not valid to take a redouble to 4 and obtain a 2-cube in the process. That is not an error that can be condoned. If both players agree on the facts (that the double was from 2 to 4 and it was taken), then it doesn't matter what the cube says.

Where it matters is if both players do not recall the facts in the same manner or do not remember. In the case of dispute, then the value shown on the cube will be taken into account by the director.

This is the same situation as if a player wins 2 points and scores 4 points on the flipchart (and nobody is writing down the score). If both players agree that the win was for 2 points and that 4 points were actually added to the scoroesheet, the player cannot keep the 4 points recorded just because his opponent failed to notice it in a timely manner.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.