[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Another director ruling

Posted By: Barry Silliman
Date: Wednesday, 24 March 2010, at 2:17 a.m.

In Response To: Another director ruling (Barry Silliman)

FYI. The situation I described did happen, minus the scenarios. That is, this part happened.

Seven point match. Player A leads 5-1, that is, 2-away 6-away.

Player A doubles to 2, B takes. Player B redoubles of course to 4 and A takes.

After a long game, Player B wins a gammon.

Just as A is about to extend a handshake to congratulate B for winning the match, B says, "that's 4 points, so 5-5" and sets up his checkers for the next game.

A sets up for the next game.

It happened in the Advanced division of an ABT tournament. The story was related to me by Player A. There were no kibitzers, and B never realized the mistake.

Play continued, and B won the match.

I also would rather that A had pointed out the mistake at the time and conceded the match. However, is it A's responsibility to ensure that B is not so dull as to leave the points on the table?

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.