[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Ruling Question

Posted By: Bob Koca
Date: Saturday, 27 November 2010, at 5:54 p.m.

In Response To: Ruling Question (rory)

Suppose that A has the ace and 5 point anchors. B has 15 checkers in his homeboard including two on his 6 point. B rolls a 51 and illegally bears off from the 6 point. Suppose the game is being video recorded.

Rory is saying that B can still be gammoned. B of course does not realize it. There is no rule requiring that A inform B of this or even that an illegal play has been made. In fact the rules specifically say to just roll. B could later concede the race by resetting the pieces when a gammon was still possible which would have to be a gammon according to the rules right? What if there were witnesses to the 51 play though and not the video evidence? Enough?

I think it can be argued that the fact that the play was condoned means that the piece was actually legally borne off.

Suppose that a player has a single checker on his 6 point and checkers on his 4,3,2,1 points and rolls a 42. The player plays 6/2 4/off which is an illegal play. Has the checker been borne off legally? Does it matter if the player specifically played 6/2 first and then 4/off, Played 4/off first and then 6/2, or did so simultaneously?

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.