[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Ruling Question

Posted By: Rich Munitz
Date: Saturday, 27 November 2010, at 5:55 p.m.

In Response To: Ruling Question (rory)

Rory is correct. This particular ambiguity was clarified in the US Tournament rules in the last few years.

Just to be clear, the rule says two things. Firstly, the player may still be gammoned. Second, removing the checker from play is ILLEGAL. That means it is the option of the opponent whether the play should be redone legally, or if the illegal play stands with the given checker to remain off the board for the remainder of the game.

Note: the situation clarified by this rule change was ambiguous because there are two ways a position with fewer than 15 checkers can otherwise arise in accordance with the rules - a borne off checker, and an illegal setup. This rule is consistent with the fact that the board may be incorrectly set up at the beginning with fewer than 15 checkers, and if not discovered and corrected in a timely manner, the checker must remain out of play with gammons still in effect for both sides.

4.7 ERROR IN SETUP. An incorrect starting position must be corrected prior to the fifth roll of the game. Thereafter the existing setup becomes official. Players starting with less than 15 checkers in play may still be gammoned or backgammoned.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.