| |
BGonline.org Forums
Ruling Question
Posted By: Rich Munitz In Response To: Ruling Question (Matt Cohn-Geier)
Date: Sunday, 28 November 2010, at 6:24 a.m.
Common sense dictates that there be no gammon here. This is a case of the wrong checker being borne off rather than a checker being illegally removed from play.
This is different than the example I gave with 15 checkers on the 6 point and a 52 to play. You cannot legally bear off a checker with a 52 in that situation. So you should not be able to get off the gammon by illegally taking the checker off even though you have met the necessary conditions to begin bearing off checkers. However, in reality as a director I would expect the player condoning this illegal play (in which his opponent obviously thinks he bore off a checker) to state to his opponent that the play was illegal and the gammon is still in effect. To do otherwise deliberately creates the risk of confusion later and potentially seeks to capitalize on the opponent not being aware of the situation.
However, I now realize that I misread UBK's prior post regarding the 15 play illegally bearing off the 6 point against anchors on the 5 and 1 points. I completely missed that it was discussing a different 15 play than the original post. It would be my ruling as a director that when bearing off against contact, a checker is considered illegally borne off (rather than illegally removed from play) if bearing off a checker with the given roll would have been legal without the presence of the opponent's anchors. Of course the opponent may still require the play to be made legally.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.