| |
BGonline.org Forums
A little rules question...and socialiability in a local BG club
Posted By: Henrik Bukkjaer In Response To: A little rules question...and socialiability in a local BG club (Steve Mellen)
Date: Friday, 25 March 2011, at 8:47 a.m.
Hi Steve, it's not that often I see LHS rolling here in Denmark.
Our rules, however, do cover the scenario, to avoid any disputes over the issue. (see below).
To state that players can find it "distracting" for their own game, that the opponents ask permission to roll LHS, is over the top. I bet that Stick doesn't blunder because there suddenly a set of dice lying on "his" side of the board, while it's not even his turn!
There's no "my side" and "your side". When it's your turn it's your board. You touch the checkers (any color), you touch the cube, you touch the dice. When your turn ends, your opponent takes over. The main thing here is that you keep your hands off everything when it's not your turn. That way no-one gets distrated. An opponent doing LHS rolling makes NO difference for you, when it's your turn.
Having said that, I never do LHS rolling myself. But I would never turn it down either.
I think there are some scenarios where LHS makes more sense. It depends on checkersize vs. dice size and boardsize and it depends on checker height. If the checkers cover the board (some board/checker combos don't even allow 11 checkers on adjacent points), then LHS makes more sense. If the checkers have a small height, the dice will more often bounce on top of them. And especially if the dice are big, they don't fall flat to the surface in the gaps between checkers! On my own boards (Plaspel suitcase and Dal Negro tournament) it's never a problem. But on other boards I have played, I can understand that some people prefer to LHS roll when 30 checkers are at the inner-boards.
-----
The DBgF rule: (this is from version 2.0, I couldn't easily find the new translation of the 3.0 version, but this rule was not changed in the Danish version)
Legal Rolls - Initiating of Turn
1) In matches played without the use of baffle box. A legal roll consists of shaking the dice thoroughly in a dice cup, and then tossing them out of the dice cup without the dice touching the player’s hand or the dice cup touching the playing surface, allowing them to bounce and roll freely. Both dice shall come to rest flat (not cocked) on the playing surface to the right of the bar, otherwise both dice shall be re-rolled. The player is allowed to roll to the left of the bar provided the opponent gives permission. When a player has been allowed to roll to the left of the bar, the player may only roll to the right of the bar once the player has notified the opponent. The permission to roll to the left of the bar ends when the player has notified the opponent that the player will roll to the right of the bar or when the game has finished.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.