[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

BG ruling opinion

Posted By: Chuck Bower
Date: Wednesday, 25 May 2011, at 7:53 p.m.

In Response To: BG ruling opinion (Chiva Tafazzoli)

Once again the US Rules aren't clear on this anomaly so there is room for director discretion (when US Rules are enforce).

It has been my understanding that at least some directors disallow a diceroll when the dice, after leaving the cup and prior to coming to rest on the (roller's RH) surface subsequently make contact with objects other than the backgammon set itself. What does "backgammon set" mean? I think that can be carefully worded (more carefully than I will do here) but basically the set includes the playing surface, borders of that surface, the bar, the checker collection/storage regions and their borders, the cube (when it is located within the borders of the set), any checkers on the playing surface, bar, or checker storage region, and even the clock when it is resting on the set.

For those who know the rules of basketball, one form of goal-tending (basket interference) occurs when a player touches the (released = shot) ball while any part of the ball is within a closed, vertical, right angle cylinder whose base is coincident with the disk defined by the rim. (Again, there is probably a better way to describe this.) I can imagine a similar (rectangular cross sectioned) cylinder could be defined for allowed volume of rolled backgammon dice.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.