[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Move Over?

Posted By: Chuck Bower
Date: Friday, 15 February 2013, at 3:19 p.m.

In Response To: Move Over? (Seth)

Recently, in NYC,someone who rents out backgammon equipment stated that the ABT rule is actually that your move is over if you merely touch the dice after making a move.

The ABT (not surprisingly) defaults to the US Rules posted at:

http://chicagopoint.com/usrules.html

You can read there what the rule says.

It is common(?) practice that, yes, if a legal move has been made and either die is then touched without forewarning (i.e. telling opp that the dice are being moved), the play stands as if the dice were picked up. It's murky if an illegal move has been made. For example, the roll is 6-x and a single checker is moved 6 and then the dice are touched -- I assume the move isn't over. But if 6-2 are the dice and a checker has been moved seven spaces (e.g. as if the roll were 6-1), let the director decide (or just play legal moves to avoid this dilemma).

Another thing that helps avoid this and related disagreements is if people would verbally announce that the dice are going to be repositioned EVERY TIME they are going to reposition them.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.