[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Fast-roll tournament ruling?

Posted By: Chuck Bower
Date: Wednesday, 9 December 2009, at 5:30 p.m.

In Response To: Fast-roll tournament ruling? (Matt Ryder)

I'm confused on the details. You say the player fast-rolled and grab the dice before they were finished moving. Then s/he rolled 6-6. But had the opponent picked up his/her dice in the meantime? I.e. was the 6-6 technically a fast roll as well as the aborted roll?

There was a somewhat similar situation in Pittsburgh in 2008 in the doubles event. A player fast-rolled and I believe his/her partner grabbed the dice. At the time I believe the ruling was "no rules breach so no corrective action to impose" but some kibitzers didn't like that ruling so it later became a topic of conversation.

In that case I'm pretty sure the players on roll did not pick up their dice. I know that several proposed the solution that since a fast-roll had occurred (even though aborted), the offending team was required (by director) to reroll and the non-offending team would then be allowed (according to the US Rules) to make their play based upon the knowledge of the opponents' dice.

I just looked at the current (Jan. 2009) US Rules and the case of the premature roll being aborted is not covered.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.