[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Fast-roll tournament ruling?

Posted By: Chuck Bower
Date: Thursday, 10 December 2009, at 5:52 p.m.

In Response To: Fast-roll tournament ruling? (Matt Ryder)

Jan. 2009 US Rule (from Chicagopoint website):

4.6 PREMATURE ACTIONS. The opponent of a player who rolls prematurely shall complete his turn and then either let the premature roll stand or require a reroll. The opponent of a player who doubles prematurely shall complete his turn and then pass or take.

This rule doesn't specifically cover an aborted fast roll. Thus (as everyone seems to agree) the director needs to improvise.

My approach (and I'm not a director) is that before director creates a harsher than standard penalty, the player should be warned of the infraction previously by the director. I think it is irrelevant that the opponent has said something previously just among the players, and it's irrelevant what the kibitzers saw or think about this. If an opp fast rolls, either agree between you to adjust literally to the rule (above, in the US) or call the director. Otherwise the opponent of the fast roller is effectively condoning it.

In this case, as director I would attempt to find the EXACT sequence of events. When did the offended player end his/her turn? Apparently after the aborted roll, but before the 6-6 roll? Did the offended player tell his opp that he was required to reroll the aborted roll? (Obviously this would now be shot-taking by the non-fast roller.)

Did the non-fast roller have time to call attention to the impropriety before the fast roller fired the 6-6? (I don't mean fractions of a second as being enough time. A couple seconds or more.)

The most likely scenario is probably that fast roller tossed his dice while his opp was finishing his/her play, then while the abort was taking place the non-fast roller picked up his/her dice without saying anything, before realizing what was going on. If either that happened (and it can be confirmed by more than just the testimony of the offended) OR the non-fast roller's dice were still down (much easier ruling) then I would rule that the aborted roll caused the impropriety and the (6-6) reroll was invalid. The fast roller is required to toss the dice and the non-fast roller then follows rule 4.6 above.

The fast roller is then given a warning that A) fast rolling is not allowed, and B) in the event of a fast roll (just like any roll), the dice are not to be touched until the roll is completed (as defined by the rules).

Repeated offenses should lead to strict penalties, and here is where I differ from most (if not already). A player, by playing the tournament, is under the obligation to follow the rules. If a player repeatedly breaks the same rule and this occurs after a warning from the director then that player is showing a disregard for the rules. S/he can't be allowed to say "I didn't know the rule" after s/he was warned about that rule. If it becomes clear that a player is intentionally and knowingly not following the rules, he's banned from the tournament. Maybe s/he gets the entry fee back (or some settlement value) but s/he's gone and is not welcome back.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.