[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Ruling in Chicago

Posted By: Daniel Murphy
Date: Thursday, 3 June 2010, at 1:46 a.m.

In Response To: Ruling in Chicago (Sam Pottle)

Sam, you're interpreting this sentence --

"If the opponent does not want the illegal play corrected, he picks up the dice and rolls (or doubles/redoubles)."

to mean that to condone a move a player must BOTH pick up the dice AND roll or double. That doesn't seem to me the best way to interpret that sentence standing alone, but ok, it could be so read. So I'll retract my statement that the "rule is clear." However, the rule ALSO describes what a player must do to have a play redone.

"When a player has made an illegal checker play and the opponent wishes it corrected, he brings attention to the illegal play and hits the clock."

If the player has followed that procedure, the dice are still on the table. So I'll still maintain that if a player does not bring the illegal play to his opponent's attention, but instead picks up the dice, he has condoned the illegal play.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.