| |
BGonline.org Forums
Ruling in Chicago
Posted By: Daniel Murphy In Response To: Ruling in Chicago (Steve Mellen)
Date: Thursday, 3 June 2010, at 2:24 a.m.
Re clarity, see my response to Sam. And yes, for clarity the rule ought to omit "and rolls (or doubles/redoubles)" completely. But read the rule in its entirety:
4.3 ILLEGAL PLAYS. When a player has made an illegal checker play and the opponent wishes it corrected, he brings attention to the illegal play and hits the clock. The player makes a legal checker play, then hits the clock. If the opponent does not want the illegal play corrected, he picks up the dice and rolls (or doubles/redoubles).
If one is going to interpret the last sentence to mean that the opponent must both pick up the dice and roll/redouble, then one should also interpret the first sentence to say that when the "opponent wishes [an illegal move] corrected, he brings attention to the illegal play and hits the clock, or he picks up the dice, brings attention to the illegal play and hits the clock.
There's no directive to or allowance for a player to pick up the dice and then point out an illegality.
As for why the rule "refer[s] to rolling at all," it occurs to me that actually if the rule were to be clearly written to mean that rolling (or doubling) condones the play, it shouldn't refer to picking up the dice at all
As I see it, the first sentence is clear enough as written -- if you want a play corrected, the procedure is not to pick up the dice and then point out the illegality; the procedure is to point out the illegality. So reading the rule as a whole, my ruling would be that the picking up the dice condones the play, and "and rolls (or doubles/redoubles)" adds no meaning, in view of the clarity of the first sentence.
By all means rewrite the second sentence. The relevant part of the parallel DBgF rule also says that if you want to have a play redone, you stop the clock, bring it to your opponent's attention, agree that the roll has been misplayed, and restart the clock. And: "Acceptance of a player's illegal play occurs when the opponent initiates his turn." Is that unclear, too? Maybe, but with that rules set I'd also rule that picking up the dice "initiates" the turn.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.