| |
BGonline.org Forums
Ruling in Chicago
Posted By: Daniel Murphy In Response To: Ruling in Chicago (Steve Mellen)
Date: Thursday, 3 June 2010, at 4:11 p.m.
Of course you don't agree. If you did agree, we wouldn't have a disagreement.
My view is this:
Q. My opponent moved and hit his clock, but I think he made an illegal move and I want him to correct it. What should I do?
A. You should (1) stop the clock, (2) point out the misplay, (3) have your opponent agree that that the roll was misplayed, and (4) start your opponent's clock and have him make a legal move.
Q. Ok, that's clear. Now, suppose he made an illegal move but I don't want him to redo it?
A. In that case, just (1) pick up the dice and (2) roll or double, as usual. Don't stop the clock, don't point out the misplay.
Q. You're making all this up, aren't you?
A. Actually, no. In both cases, that is what the existing ABT rule tells a player in your situation to do.
You think the rule as written allows a player to dispute a dice roll even after he has a picked up the dice. I don't.
You think the rule should be rewritten. On that we agree. Both the ABT clock rule, 4.3, and the WBGT rule 4.2.3.3. I would have them re-written along the lines of Michael Crane's recently posted revision to the BIBA rule. To me, in a clocked game, picking up the dice is the action that most naturally signals my satisfaction that my opponent has completed his move correctly, and that I intend to continue with my own turn. Perhaps we disagree about that. But that's my view.
| |
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.