[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Ruling in Chicago

Posted By: Daniel Murphy
Date: Thursday, 3 June 2010, at 7:44 p.m.

In Response To: Ruling in Chicago (Gregg Cattanach)

Double without picking up the dice first? Sure, that's fine with me. The relevant ABT rule is 5.4 Cube Handling:

A player may double when it is his turn only before rolling the dice, but not after rolling cocked dice.

Perhaps this is an improvement:

A player may double when it is his turn if he has not yet rolled the dice, including cocked dice.

The "when it is his turn" seems redundant. A player is not permitted to roll, double or move checkers when it is not his turn. So perhaps:

A player may not double after rolling the dice, including cocked dice.

But does any rule say that a player may double in turn? Then perhaps:

A player may double when it is his turn, but not after rolling the dice, including cocked dice.

Is "when it is his turn" the same as "in turn"? I think so. Then:

A player may double in turn, but not after rolling the dice, including cocked dice.

It would be possible to combine the "Premature Action" clauses (there's one each under checker handling and cube handling) and part of the Handling Checkers clause into one "Acting in Turn" clause, which might say:

A player may double, roll the dice and handle the checkers only in turn. A player's otherwise legal double out of turn stands. A player's roll out of turn stands unless the opponent insists that it be retracted. The opponent is entitled to complete his turn knowing that player will be doubling or rolling the unretracted roll on the player's next turn.

Messages In This Thread

 

Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:
Subject:
Message:

If necessary, enter your password below:

Password:

 

 

[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.