[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Posting Matches

Posted By: Dmitriy Obukhov
Date: Monday, 14 October 2013, at 7:33 a.m.

Bill Calton recently raised some questions/concerns about posing matches. I figured I would take a minute to answer to him and to others.

First of all, I think PR of someone who plays on GridGammon is hardly a secret. Even if someone doesn't know exactly what your level of play is, I think most of your opponents who have played you multiple times have a pretty good idea. Moreover, it sounds strange to me that you would tell on your blog – which is excellent by the way – what your PR were in matches discuses, but still saying it is not anyone's business.

Personally, I believe there should be no refusing of making matches available to public. I remember looking at matches of masters when I started learning backgammon. Let me tell you, they made a difference in my understanding of the game. Many of us have benefited from publically avalable information, let's not deprive others from same opportunities. There were also raised some comparison with chess. I believe here, on BGO, are several chess players. How many would prefer looking at games of Fritz vs. Rybka instead of Kasparov Vs. Karpov? Perhaps there are someone, but it isn't me. Same in backgammon – matches of XGR++ Vs. XGR+ are of little interest to me – I am more interested in human play. Just as Bill Phips, I believe that if someone pretends to be a Giant, he should not try to hide his matches from the public.