[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

XG bug and rules quesitions

Posted By: Bob Koca
Date: Tuesday, 29 January 2013, at 6:23 p.m.

In Response To: PR match strategy (Bob Koca)

Chris Yep pointed out to me that a resignation counts as a decision. Clearly that should not be the case. Will the PRs be adjusted to change that? Also I just checked and it seems that a bad resignation does not count as an error at all. Is it a settnig perhaps?

I think there are some rules that need to be ironed out beforehand. For example

i) when exactly can a player resign?

a) Can he resign after playing his checkers for a play for example?

b) I always thought only a non-contact position could be resigned but the clock rules seem to indicate differently.

"5.1 CONCEDING, ENDING A GAME. Prior to rolling the dice a player may concede a single game, gammon or backgammon by stopping both clocks and stating the offer. To accept the offer the opponent says, “Accept,” records the score, and resets the board. To reject the offer the opponent says, “Reject,” and, if necessary, summons the Director to adjudicate. The Director will require the opponent to accept the offer when no outcome more favorable for him can occur; otherwise, the Director deems the offer invalid and restarts the player’s clock. After bearing off his last checker, a player stops both clocks and resets the board."

c) Also from the above has the meaning of "no outcome more favorable" suddenly become ambiguous?

2) Is it clear how much of an error is charged for a clock expiration?

Messages In This Thread


Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:

If necessary, enter your password below:




[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.