Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1)
Posted By: Justin N.
Date: Saturday, 5 May 2012, at 7:22 a.m.
An early-round match at a local weekly "friendly" ($10 entry) event is being contested using a clock and a dice tube. Player A is bearing off, at DMP, with an opposing checker on the bar, and has rolled a 41 with the 6 and 5 points cleared and a 3-point gap. Player A immediately peels the 4, but does not hit his clock, as he plans to take a few seconds to ponder the ace. Player B, mistakenly thinking Player A had hit the clock, grabs the tube and flips it. As Player B is mid-flip (or twist, or shake, or whatever), Player A verbally states "I haven't hit my clock yet." Player B, nonetheless, completes the flip, with the tube making contact with the table, and a 21 showing... dance. Player A pauses the clock to ask for a ruling. Assuming US Tournament Rules are in effect, is the 21 a premature role, thus giving the option to Player A to choose whether the roll stands or not? Does the timing of Player A's statement mid-flip have any bearing on your decision? Does your ruling change if it's the Final Round of the Supreme Championship of the Universe with zillions of dollars on the line?
Messages In This Thread
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.