Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1) -- US clock rules
Posted By: Chuck Bower In Response To: Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1) (Justin N.)
Date: Sunday, 6 May 2012, at 4:22 p.m.
In Response To: Ruling: Two-fer (Part 1) (Justin N.)
4.1 MISHANDLING DICE. A player shall not touch or pick up the dice until the opponent hits the clock to complete his turn. A player who prematurely picks up the dice forfeits his per move deductible for his next checker play. The player on turn stops both clocks and summons the Director to claim the time penalty, unless both players agree to accept it. The penalized player must wait until his deductible has counted down to zero before rolling his dice.
Unfortunately (either for my inability to read carefully or for the way the rules are written) I don't find anywhere in the above page a statement to the effect "US Rules apply except where overridden here...." The typical TD does ues these rules together so in practice the (non-clocked) US Rules apply.
The above rule 4.1 does explicitly state the penalty for premature action (picking up the dice). It doesn't say what to do if the fast grabber actually rolls. As happens, this is now a judgement call on the part of the director. Things such as "did offender have a chance to stop his action after hearing opp's statement of who is on turn?" and "is the offender a repeat fast-grabber or fast-roller?" could (and IMO should) enter into the decision.
Messages In This Thread
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.