[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

Director's action? Part B

Posted By: Daniel Murphy
Date: Tuesday, 25 June 2013, at 8:26 p.m.

In Response To: Director's action? Part B (Tom Keith)

I don't think a kibitzer (even if it's the TD) should say anything if he observes a cubing infraction, wrong initial board setup, placing a hit checker in the wrong location, or rolling on the wrong side of the board.

Under any rules set, a TD and tournament staff are not "kibitzers" -- that is, spectators. Tournament staff and spectators have different responsibilities.

All the errors mentioned, except the last, are illegal moves (or, in the case of a wrong set-up, will immediately lead to one). With regard to the last, all rules sets say that legal rolls are those rolled on the right side (a rules set may or may not mention whether a player may or may not give permission for left-side rolling).

Under the Bower/Simborg/Horton rules illegal moves must be corrected. The two players, any tournament official, or an appointed monitor are empowered to correct illegal moves. Spectators, on the other hand, "are required to remain silent unless asked by both players to assist." Those rules further provide that "the TD is responsible to ensure that these Rules and Guidelines will be followed as much as possible...."

So, there's no question at all in my mind that, under those rules, if a TD observes any of those infractions, it is his responsibility to immediately correct them. As well as an observed scoring error, Chuck's original "Part B" question.

Messages In This Thread


Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:

If necessary, enter your password below:




[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.