|
BGonline.org Forums
Ruling
Posted By: Steve Mellen In Response To: Ruling (Stick)
Date: Tuesday, 1 November 2011, at 1:32 p.m.
White has obviously rolled prematurely. If Black had made a binding declaration, maybe it wouldn't matter, but Black's statement is ambiguous at best. Since Black now says he was dropping, my ruling is that he has dropped.
But you asked me to assume that the cube must be taken. Okay, if we rule that Black has made a binding verbal declaration to take the cube, then hitting the clock is what we lawyers call a "ministerial act." He has nothing to think about, no possibility of taking back his decision. So I think nullifying White's roll because he rolled a split-second before the clock was pressed would elevate form over function, although I wouldn't overturn a ruling either way if I were on the appeals committee.
|
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.