A difference in the rules--what's your take
Posted By: phil simborg
Date: Sunday, 23 March 2014, at 9:04 p.m.
Okay, let's forget about what the rules are in some place and the debate about LM vs. NLM. I'm interested in what the very experienced and knowledgeable players here think SHOULD be the rules in the following areas that are still being debated. While I have an opinion on each one, I am going to do my best to pose the question as unbiasedly as possible, as I really want to get a feel for how people think the rules should be applied and the game should be played.
I would greatly appreciate your responses as they will help me make a case for how these rules should be written and enforced.
1. You are playing without a clock. Your opponent makes his move. He starts to pick up the dice and moves them, but does not actually pick them up. Then he decides to change his mind. You have not rolled. Is his move over or should he be allowed to change his move?
2. Your opponent leads 2away/4away and holds a 2 cube. He forgets he is 2-away and redoubles to 4. If you realize his mistake, are you "honor-bound" to point it out or can you accept the cube? If you accept the cube, and the error is discovered right away, is the cube dead? If it is discovered right after the match, what then? (Same thing applies to cubes give at Crawford.)
3. You opponent puts his own checker on the bar instead of yours by mistake. You notice this. Should you have to point it out, or should you simply play on?
4. Your opponent is on the bar and rolls a 6-5 which enters. He thought he rolled a 6-6 and picked up his dice. Then he realizes his mistake. Should he be allowed to correct it if you haven't rolled yet? Should he be allowed to correct it if you have rolled? If you noticed the mistake, should you point it out and let him come in?
5. Your opponent clearly hit your checker and clearly intended to hit, but accidentally picked up his dice before he lifted your checker to the bar. The move could have been played legally without a hit. Should you let him put the checker on the bar or is he out of luck?
6. Your opponent clearly reaches for the cube but does not touch it or say that he is cubing. Is he obligated to double?
7. Your opponent states that if you double he will take. If you then double, should he be obligated to take is not?
8. Your opponent likes to take lots of pictures with his smart phone. Should he be obligated to state what his move or cube action will be before he takes the picture?
9. Your opponent says that he needs a bathroom break. Should he be allowed to do this in the middle of a game or must he wait until between games?
10. Your opponent likes to use a baffle box. You don't. Is he allowed to use the baffle box even though you don't if you don't want him to?
11. Both players are fast-rolling most of the match. Then, suddenly, on an important roll, one player says the other player's roll doesn't count because he fast rolls. Should he have lost his right to call a fast roll if he wasn't calling it or warning his opponent earlier? (Of course there would have to be some testimony of witnesses or agreement by the players that there has been fast rolling previously, but assuming this is the case and all players are honest, what should the rule be?)
12. A spectator sees one of the players writing down the wrong score. Should he speak up?
13. A spectator sees that the clock has been left running accidentally--should he speak up?
14. A player rolls the dice then quickly picks them up saying they were cocked. The other player believes they were not cocked. How should this be settled?
Messages In This Thread
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.