[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

A difference in the rules--what's your take

Posted By: Tom Keith
Date: Sunday, 23 March 2014, at 10:51 p.m.

In Response To: A difference in the rules--what's your take (phil simborg)

1. You are playing without a clock. Your opponent makes his move. He starts to pick up the dice and moves them, but does not actually pick them up. Then he decides to change his mind. You have not rolled. Is his move over or should he be allowed to change his move?

His move is not over until he has picked up the dice.

2. Your opponent leads 2away/4away and holds a 2 cube. He forgets he is 2-away and redoubles to 4. If you realize his mistake, are you "honor-bound" to point it out or can you accept the cube? If you accept the cube, and the error is discovered right away, is the cube dead? If it is discovered right after the match, what then? (Same thing applies to cubes give at Crawford.)

The ABT rules allow him to cube. Whether you are "honor-bound" to tell him is up to you and your own sensibilities.

3. You opponent puts his own checker on the bar instead of yours by mistake. You notice this. Should you have to point it out, or should you simply play on?

You should point it out as soon as possible -- otherwise there may be confusion later.

4. Your opponent is on the bar and rolls a 6-5 which enters. He thought he rolled a 6-6 and picked up his dice. Then he realizes his mistake. Should he be allowed to correct it if you haven't rolled yet? Should he be allowed to correct it if you have rolled? If you noticed the mistake, should you point it out and let him come in?

Under LM, you should point it out and have him play legally. Under NLM, it's your option.

5. Your opponent clearly hit your checker and clearly intended to hit, but accidentally picked up his dice before he lifted your checker to the bar. The move could have been played legally without a hit. Should you let him put the checker on the bar or is he out of luck?

No rule requires you to do this, but it would be a nice thing to do.

6. Your opponent clearly reaches for the cube but does not touch it or say that he is cubing. Is he obligated to double?

No. ("To double or redouble, a player moves the cube toward his opponent with the higher value face up while saying 'double' or words to that effect.")

7. Your opponent states that if you double he will take. If you then double, should he be obligated to take is not?

No. A valid take happens only after a double has been offered.

8. Your opponent likes to take lots of pictures with his smart phone. Should he be obligated to state what his move or cube action will be before he takes the picture?

Taking pictures with a smart phone during a game may actually be illegal. ("Players may not use cell phones or other electronic communication devices except during authorized breaks.") Though perhaps this rule applies only to talking on a cell phone. In any event, taking pictures is not part of the game and should be done only with permission of your opponent or the TD.

9. Your opponent says that he needs a bathroom break. Should he be allowed to do this in the middle of a game or must he wait until between games?

If it is an emergency, of course. (As with any other emergency, the TD should be called.)

10. Your opponent likes to use a baffle box. You don't. Is he allowed to use the baffle box even though you don't if you don't want him to?

If players can't agree, call TD to decide. (If a baffle box is used, both players should use it.)

11. Both players are fast-rolling most of the match. Then, suddenly, on an important roll, one player says the other player's roll doesn't count because he fast rolls. Should he have lost his right to call a fast roll if he wasn't calling it or warning his opponent earlier? (Of course there would have to be some testimony of witnesses or agreement by the players that there has been fast rolling previously, but assuming this is the case and all players are honest, what should the rule be?)

Call TD. TD will interview the players and use his best judgment to decide on the appropriate action.

12. A spectator sees one of the players writing down the wrong score. Should he speak up?

No. It is the players' responsibility to write down the score and confirm it with their opponent.

13. A spectator sees that the clock has been left running accidentally--should he speak up?

Only in exceptional circumstances.

14. A player rolls the dice then quickly picks them up saying they were cocked. The other player believes they were not cocked. How should this be settled?

Call TD. TD will interview the players and use his best judgment to decide what to do.

Messages In This Thread


Post Response

Your Name:
Your E-Mail Address:

If necessary, enter your password below:




[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.