A difference in the rules--what's your take
Posted By: Jason Lee In Response To: A difference in the rules--what's your take (phil simborg)
Date: Sunday, 23 March 2014, at 11:42 p.m.
In Response To: A difference in the rules--what's your take (phil simborg)
I'll answer having not seen any responses.
1. You are playing without a clock. Your opponent makes his move. He starts to pick up the dice and moves them, but does not actually pick them up. Then he decides to change his mind. You have not rolled. Is his move over or should he be allowed to change his move?
Not a chance in hell. If you make a legal move and move your dice without indicating something, your move is over.
2. Your opponent leads 2away/4away and holds a 2 cube. He forgets he is 2-away and redoubles to 4. If you realize his mistake, are you "honor-bound" to point it out or can you accept the cube? If you accept the cube, and the error is discovered right away, is the cube dead? If it is discovered right after the match, what then? (Same thing applies to cubes give at Crawford.)
I think this should be part of LM. I don't let people send me cubes that are dead (to them).
3. You opponent puts his own checker on the bar instead of yours by mistake. You notice this. Should you have to point it out, or should you simply play on?
I play LM. I point it out.
4. Your opponent is on the bar and rolls a 6-5 which enters. He thought he rolled a 6-6 and picked up his dice. Then he realizes his mistake. Should he be allowed to correct it if you haven't rolled yet? Should he be allowed to correct it if you have rolled? If you noticed the mistake, should you point it out and let him come in?
5. Your opponent clearly hit your checker and clearly intended to hit, but accidentally picked up his dice before he lifted your checker to the bar. The move could have been played legally without a hit. Should you let him put the checker on the bar or is he out of luck?
This is not covered under LM. If you make a legal move and don't put the checker on the bar, sorry. I don't care if you tap the checker on the way. This is part of proper mechanics.
6. Your opponent clearly reaches for the cube but does not touch it or say that he is cubing. Is he obligated to double?
I say if you even look askance at the cube you've doubled.
7. Your opponent states that if you double he will take. If you then double, should he be obligated to take is not?
He's obligated to stop coffeehousing me. No, he's not obligated to take, but stop doing that.
8. Your opponent likes to take lots of pictures with his smart phone. Should he be obligated to state what his move or cube action will be before he takes the picture?
No. I assume nobody's cheating, and the notion that somebody might jog a reference position in their mind by looking at it through the lens of their iPhone is, at minimum, absurd. All you weirdos that make me make a decision before snapping a photo: puh-leese.
9. Your opponent says that he needs a bathroom break. Should he be allowed to do this in the middle of a game or must he wait until between games?
Oh go pee already.
10. Your opponent likes to use a baffle box. You don't. Is he allowed to use the baffle box even though you don't if you don't want him to?
I'm not going to be bullied into using a BB if I don't want to, but if he wants to roll his own dice through a BB, knock yourself out.
11. Both players are fast-rolling most of the match. Then, suddenly, on an important roll, one player says the other player's roll doesn't count because he fast rolls. Should he have lost his right to call a fast roll if he wasn't calling it or warning his opponent earlier? (Of course there would have to be some testimony of witnesses or agreement by the players that there has been fast rolling previously, but assuming this is the case and all players are honest, what should the rule be?)
The rule should be: don't be such an asshat. You can't suddenly decide to enforce a rule just because all of a sudden it's to your benefit.
12. A spectator sees one of the players writing down the wrong score. Should he speak up?
13. A spectator sees that the clock has been left running accidentally--should he speak up?
I'm imagining a scenario where we're all going to the ladies room together. Yeah, he should say something.
14. A player rolls the dice then quickly picks them up saying they were cocked. The other player believes they were not cocked. How should this be settled?
I want to create a rule system where improprieties in procedure are penalized. You cannot claim that the dice are cocked without the other dude agreeing.
I'm willing to give the benefit of the doubt to the guy who says they were cocked, and allow the dice to be rerolled, but the premature cocker is on notice. If he does that again, his opponent is allowed to call ANY numbers he likes.
Messages In This Thread
BGonline.org Forums is maintained by Stick with WebBBS 5.12.