[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

How about treating every one in the event the same?

Posted By: Albert Steg
Date: Friday, 3 July 2015, at 3:50 a.m.

In Response To: How about treating every one in the event the same? (phil simborg)

I'm still quite new to the tournament scene outside of Boston so my opinions aren't born of substantial experience, and aren't expressed with strong conviction, but I have a few observations / questions / suggestions.

1) Is it the case that a player who wins a single Intermediate main event is consigned forever thereafter to the Open ranks? If so, is this really the best criterion for promotion? Is it really so rare that an individual in the lower 50% of the draw in terms of skill/experience wins such an event? Perhaps if intermediate players are becoming discouraged to the extent that they don't show up anymore, it's because they really are being forcibly 'promoted' prematurely. I have no idea what an alternate criteria might look like -- but could there be one that confers on the aspiring intermediate a sense of genuine achievement, of having truly graduated to the upper levels of the game? Under the current system, might it not be in an intermediate's best interest to 'dump' his or her finals match, collecting the 2nd-place purse and preserving the right to play in the intermediate bracket? This would seem shameful in a top Intermediate player, but might be met with some sympathy in the case of a relative beginner who found himself in the finals largely as a fluke -- and this seems very wrong.