[ View Thread ] [ Post Response ] [ Return to Index ] [ Read Prev Msg ] [ Read Next Msg ]

BGonline.org Forums

About "changing" the rules of the game--clarification and recommendation

Posted By: Phil Simborg
Date: Wednesday, 19 October 2016, at 3:17 p.m.

In Response To: USBGF Rules--My take--answering Art's question (Timothy Chow)

Just to clarify a point I believe was not correct: I am not a big proponent of changing the rules of the game. I think backgammon, with the current rules, is a great game. I spent a tremendous amount of time and work (with Jeb and Chuck) "refining" the rules to remove ambiguity and to better define what should happen when a rule is violated...two things that were greatly at fault with the (then) existing rules.

The biggest "controversy" about any "change" was over the legal moves issue, and I want to go on record as saying that "we" did not "change" that rule, as legal moves is and was the rule in many places around the world, by mutual agreement of most top players in tournaments that had non-legal moves, and by popular vote. We had to put it the rules one way or another, and if you go all over the world, you will see legal moves is pretty much the standard. Further, since most people were playing legal moves, we thought it was important to state how legal moves should work, as we had not seen it in writing very well anywhere. It was not clearly defined what happens when a legal move is detected after the other player rolled, for example.